Soy Sauce Substitute

I love fried rice.  I have worked at coming up with a recipe that both my husband and I like. (I will post recipe later) The problem being on the DASH diet is you have to keep your sodium intake to 1500mg a day.  When one tablespoon of soy sauce has 960mg of sodium, low sodium soy sauce has 575mg, that is a lot of sodium. I have one recipe that service 4 that calls for 2/3 cup of soy sauce. That is 2400mg of sodium for one person, for one dish.  Okay I am done with the math, you get the idea.  I found an answer and here is the recipe from Low Sodium Cooking.  I don’t cook glutton free, but I think this fits that cooking style too.

Soy Sauce Substitute

Ingredients:
2 T Sodium Free Beef Bouillon
2 t Red Wine Vinegar
1 t Molasses
1/8 t Ground Ginger
dash Black Pepper
dash Garlic Powder
3/4 c Water

In small sauce pan, combine the ingredients and boil gently uncovered about 5 minutes or til mixture is reduced to 1/2 cup. Store in refrigerator. Stir before using. Makes 8 servings.

 

Leave a Reply

