Chicken Burritos

Chicken burritos are on tonight’s dinner menu.  My husband picked up at couple of frozen burritos at the grocery store the other day and I felt like a weeks’ worth of good eating went down the drain.  OK really not that bad, but knew I could do something better.  So here is my own personal recipe.

Chicken Burritos

buritto
by Marla

½ Chicken breast cooked and diced
1 15oz can of Pinto Beans, rinsed and drained
½ Cup Mexican Shredded Cheese
½ Cup of favorite Salsa
1 ½ Cups cooked Brown Rice
1 Jalapeno, seeded, deveined and diced
2 Tab. Chili Powder
½ tea. Cumin
¼ Cup of chopped Cilantro
Black Pepper to taste

Mixed this all together.
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Flour Tortillas (OK I cheated here, but it is what my husband likes best, so he will eat them) 260mg of sodium in one tortilla.
Lay tortilla out flat, add about 1/3 Cup of filling mixture.  Fold in sides. Fold down top, and then fold up bottom.  Place seam side down on baking sheet.  Bake for about 15-20 minutes.  Edges of burritos should be brown.  If you like a more steamed style of burritos you can cook these in the microwave.  I would cover with a paper towel and cook about 60 seconds for two burritos.

This recipe made 12 burritos.  I cooked just enough for dinner. What I had leftover I wrapped each individual burrito plastic wrap. Then placed them all in a large zip lock bag and froze the extra.

Burritos are a very individual taste.  You can put almost anything in a tortilla and have it taste good.  So adjust the contents to fit your own personal taste.  The only hint I have is to not add too much liquid as they may get mushy.

Leave a Reply

