Thanksgiving Dinner Jello and Gravy (no not together)

Are you ready?  I think I have everything in order.  Of course something will go wrong, important just to go with the flow.  Maybe it will be the family story for a while.  Probably the most important thing is to plan out your timing.  I had dinner at a friend’s house who started the green beans before the turkey.  We just ate what was done and stretched dinner out for a very long time.  It’s a learning process.

Here is my favorite jello recipe and pretty darn easy.  I am making it today so don’t even have to worry about it tomorrow.  This is from Taste of Home. I just make mine in a pretty dish and don’t worry about un-molding it.  One less worry.

Applesauce-Raspberry Gelatin

jello

Prep: 15 min. + chilling

Ingredients

  • 3 cups unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 packages (3 ounces each) raspberry gelatin
  • 1-1/2 cups lemon-lime soda

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, bring applesauce and orange juice to a boil.
  • Remove from the heat; stir in gelatin until dissolved. Slowly add soda.
  • Pour into a 6-cup mold coated with cooking spray. Refrigerate until unmold onto a serving platter.

Nutritional Facts: 1/2 cup equals 111 calories, trace fat (trace saturated fat), 0 cholesterol, 44 mg sodium, 27 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 2 g protein. Diabetic Exchanges: 1 starch, 1/2 fruit.

© Taste of Home 2014  Read more: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/applesauce-raspberry-gelatin-mold#ixzz3Iy2PUCEF

Now for the gravy.  I will confess I don’t use a recipe here.  It is one of those things I just have in my head.  But if I were going to follow a recipe I would go to Ree Drummond, The Pioneer Woman.
gravy

