Lesley Ann Warren’s No-Bake Bourbon Balls

Are you done with your holiday baking?  I am still working on my holiday favorites.  The is one that I get asked for quiet often.  I think the original came out of Goodhouse Keeping.  This recipe must be close to 30 years old.  I don’t recommend it for children or someone avoiding alcohol.  There is not a lot, but it doesn’t get baked out like some recipes. I use rum in place of the bourbon, just prefer the taste.

Lesley Ann Warren's Bourbon Balls

LESLEY ANN WARREN’S NO- BAKE BOURBON BALLS

1 c. finely crushed vanilla wafers

1 c. chopped pecans

1 c. confectioners’ sugar

2 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa

1/4 c. bourbon

1/2 tbsp. light corn syrup

About ½ cup confectioners’ sugar

In a large bowl combine vanilla wafer crumbs, nuts, sugar and cocoa.  In 1 cup measure combine bourbon and corn syrup; pour into dry ingredients.  Stir until moistened, and then roll into ¾ inch balls. (Moisten hands with bourbon when making balls) Roll in confectioners’ sugar (Best if allowed to age 2 or 3 days in tightly covered container in refrigerator.  May be stored up to 2 weeks.) Makes 4 dozen, about 45 calories each.

