Korean Beef and Rice

I came across a recipe for Bulgogi Korean beef.  It sounded really good, but had to make a few modifications to fit our family and make it low-sodium. Bulgogi is made with flank steak, but I wanted to lower the amount of beef so I used 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground chicken (could use ground turkey). The following recipe is the results.  Everyone in the family really likes this dish, even my sons who are hard to please.  We ate it all before I thought to take a picture.

Korean Beef

1/2 pound lean ground beef
1/2 pound ground chicken or turkey
2 Tablespoons brown sugar
1/4 cup soy sauce (I use homemade)
1 Tablespoon sesame oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
1/2 – 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers (to desired spiciness)
1 Tablespoon of Sriracha sauce
pepper
1 bunch green onions, diced (don’t skip this!)

Add everything, but the onions to a large skillet over low-medium heat, break up the meat. Simmer (with lid on) for about 15 minutes to blend the flavors and brown the meat, stirring about every 5 minutes. Serve over steamed rice and top with green onions.

